Blog

Member COnnect

Dear Members:

Welcome to the 2017-2018 Board Year and our first MemberCOnnect email!  I am excited to announce we have an amazing Board working together to bring you a year jam-packed with education and networking opportunities. 

MISSION -  The Mission of the 2017-2018 Board year is to refocus on education and create opportunities to encourage increased member involvement by providing timely and relevant sources of information for all Chapter audiences while promoting the Chapter’s image as the leading association for legal professionals. Accomplishing this mission through a variety of activities will allow audiences a choice of means to access networking, education and information.

ANNUAL CONFERENCE -  What better way to kick off the year than to host the Annual Conference in our wonderful city with over 1,000 Legal Administrators from around the world? The Mile High Chapter will be well represented at Conference with 95 members attending.  A huge thanks to Jerry McPeake who has served as the Conference Liaison and has worked tirelessly with the Conference Committee in planning the event.  The Chapter will be manning the Denver Hospitality Booth on Sunday, April 2nd from 11 am – 4:30 pm so please stop by and say hi.

EDUCATION -  Our Education Committee has already planned and scheduled great speakers for the next several months of educational luncheons.  In an effort to thank our members for their continued loyalty to the Mile High Chapter, the Board is offering a discount to our members who attend all educational lunches.  In April only, you may choose the Member Ticket for $135 and that will generate a voucher for all of the lunches through the Board year.  We also have special pricing for our members at $20 per lunch on a pay-as-you-go basis for the 2017-2018 Board Year. These pricing structures are for the educational lunches scheduled for 4/20/17; 5/18/17; 6/15/17; 7/20/17; 9/21/17,10/19/16; 11/16/16; 1/18/18; 2/15/18; and 3/15/18.  This pricing structure does not pertain to the Holiday Lunch in December.  The price for guests will remain at $35 per luncheon.    

CHANGE OF LOCATION FOR THE APRIL LUNCHEON - Due to construction at the Courtyard by Marriott, the April luncheon will be held in the Lower Level 2 Assemble Conference Room in the Wells Fargo Building at 1700 Lincoln Street

Lance Breger of Infinity Wellness Partners will present on Stress Management and Work-Life Balance. It's estimated that we have 68,000 thoughts per day and that the majority of them are negative. Now is the time to take back control of your runaway mind by adopting strategies for managing thoughts.

This session has been approved for CLM credit as follows:

CLMSM Application Credit: - Application Management Category: Self-Management Skills

CLMSM Recertification Credit: 1 hour in the subject area of Communications & Organizational Management (CM)

Session Objectives:

  • Gain techniques for managing thoughts as they enter your mind
  • Discover powerful questions and statements that can re-frame thoughts
  • Learn how to progress from a reactive to proactive mentality
  • Have tools for improving calmness, clarity, and confidence

 

There is no valet parking for this event; however, there is a parking garage on the east side of Sherman at 17th Avenue for $11. 

BUSINESS PARTNERS - Our Business Partners are an integral part of what makes our Chapter successful.  Without them, we could not offer outstanding speakers at our educational luncheons and annual retreat or provide the luncheons and retreat at a discounted rate to our members.  The Business Partner drive is ongoing and the BP Committee is always looking for new Business Partners.  If you have a vendor that is not a current BP, please send Missy Hirst and Julie Becker their contact information.  Missy’s email is mhirst@hindmansanchez.com and Julie’s email is jbecker@irelandstapleton.com.  Attached is a list of Business Partners that have signed up to date for the 2017-2018 Board Year.

GET INVOLVED - Looking for a way to get more involved in the Chapter, the Committees are always looking for volunteers to serve.  With the new Board year kicking-off, this would be a great time for you to get started.  There are plenty of Committees to join based on your interests and time commitment:

Awards Committee – Nancy Gonzalez, Chair, nancy.gonzalez@bryancave.com, 303.861.7000

Bar Liaison Committee – Michele Hovland, Chair, michele.hovland@denvergov.org, 720.944.3758

Business Partner Committee – Missy Hirst, Chair, mhirst@hindmansanchez.com, 303.991.2016

Communications Committee – Amy Kempster, Chair, amy.kempster@dgslaw.com, 303.892.7336

Community Connection Committee – Linda Gross, Chair, lgross@fwlaw.com, 303.894.4481

Education Committee – Krystal Bigley, Chair, kbigley@allen-vellone.com, 303.534.4499

Membership Committee – Cheryl Matlosz, Chair, cheryl.matlosz@level3.com, 720.888.8569

Professional Development Committee – Sarah Stromberg, Chair, sstromberg@hkjp.com, 720.875.9714

Survey Committee – Beckie Mills, Chair, beckie.mills@faegrebd.com, 303.607.3624

Feel free to contact me or any of the listed contacts for more information.

Sincerely,

Tami Lawley

President

Mile High ALA

Return to list

0 Comments